Monday, February 14, 2011


The second Institution of Malaysia after Monarchy is the Executive Branch. It is the institution which headed the Government of Malaysia. The Executives members must be a Member of Parliament of Malaysia, either an elected Member of Dewan Rakyat (House of Representatives), or appointed member of Dewan Negara (Senate).

Prime Minister

Datuk Seri Najib Tun Abd Razak

The incumbent Prime Minister of Malaysia is Datuk Seri Mohd Najib bin Tun Abdul Razak. He is the sixth Prime Minister of Malaysia. The Prime Minister of Malaysia is indirectly elected Head of Government of Malaysia. To become the Prime Minister of Malaysia :-
  1. Officially appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia, who in His Majesty’s judgment is likely to command the confidence of the majority of the members of Dewan Rakyat.
  2. A member of Dewan Rakyat (House of Representatives)
After the appointment, the Prime Minister shall appoint his Cabinet Ministers to holds certain portfolio under his administration.

Deputy Prime Minister


The incumbent Deputy Prime Minister is Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin. The Deputy Prime Minister is the second highest political post in Malaysia. Nevertheless, the position does not been mention in the Constitution of Malaysia. Thus, the Prime Minister can actually choose not to appoint anyone to become his Deputy. And it is also possible to have more than one Deputy Prime Minister at one time.

Cabinet Ministers


One of the responsibilities of a Prime Minister is to form his Cabinet. The cabinet is a council of Ministers that are accountable collectively to the Parliament led by the Prime Minister. Each Minister is responsible for certain Ministry portfolio. Formally, Ministers are :-
  1. Appoint by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia on the advice of the Prime Minister.
  2. Members of Cabinet must be either a member of Dewan Rakyat or Dewan Negara.
  3. All member of Cabinet including Ministers and Deputy Ministers must not be a member of State Legislative Assembly (Dewan Undangan Negeri, DUN).
Each Minister shall be assigned with certain portfolio and lead a Ministry. Usually there will be one Minister for one Ministry. Nevertheless, to reduce cost, there will be circumstances where several portfolio/ministries shall be in charge under one Minister. Under political reasons, there can be also two Ministers in charge under one Ministry.

Deputy Ministers

Deputy Ministers are appointed by the Prime Minister. The same as Ministers, Deputy Minister must also a member of either Dewan Rakyat or Dewan Negara. Nevertheless, not all Ministries have a Deputy Minister.

Parliamentary Secretary

In the Westminster Style Parliament, Parliamentary Secretary exists to help a Senior Minister with their official duties. Originally a training ground for future ministers. During the administration of Tun Abdullah as the Prime Minister, there was several Parliamentary Secretaries appointed in several Ministries. The position must also be filled by the member of the Parliament.



Related Posts with Thumbnails

Blog Followers