Friday, February 13, 2009

Malaysia is among a few countries in the world which adapted the system of Constitutional Monarchy. Another Constitutional Monarchy countries usually ruled by a single royal family led by a King or Queen Regnant. This is where the Malaysia's Constitutional Monarchy differs.

Malaysia have 9 Royal Families.

Royal Standard

Flags of King of Malaysia
Royal Standard of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (the Supreme Ruler)

Flags of queen of Malaysia
Royal Standard of the Raja Permaisuri Agong (the Supreme Queen)

Unique to Malaysia, she is a Federation country consist of 13 States and a Federal Territory and having 9 Royal Families. This 9 States known as the Malay States having their own monarch, and each one of them assumed the Federal Throne for 5-year term in a de facto rotation system. The Ruler of Malaysia is styled as His Majesty the Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia. Literally means 'He who is made Lord'. But can also be translated as The Supreme/Paramount Ruler. Commonly refer to as King.

The nine Rulers are;

Sultan of Johor
Sultan of Kedah
Al-Sultan of Kelantan
Yang Dipertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan (literally known as Great Ruler)
Sultan of Perak
Raja of Perlis
Sultan of Selangor
Sultan of Terengganu
Sultan of Pahang

The current King of Malaysia is His Majesty Tuanku Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah, who also the Sultan of Kedah.

The Supreme Ruler of Malaysia, Tuanku Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah and Queen of Malaysia, Tuanku Hajah Haminah

According to the Constitutions, King of Malaysia functions as;

  1. the powers that he exercises on the advice of the Prime Minister, a Minister, the Cabinet, the Conference of Rulers or some other officer or institution
  2. the powers that he exercises at his discretion (without the consent of any other authority).

The circle of seniority of states

It is also know as the King circle's. Each states will take turns to hold the positions.

the Yang di-Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan
the Sultan of Selangor
the Raja of Perlis
the Sultan of Terengganu
the Sultan of Kedah
the Sultan of Kelantan
the Sultan of Pahang
the Sultan of Johor
the Sultan of Perak

Up until now, the succession order still follow the cycle. The Ruler may reject the installation under special condition.

The Kings of our past

Here are the list of Sultan that has serve as the King of Malaysia.

  1. Tuanku Abdul Rahman of Negeri Sembilan
  2. Sultan Hisamuddin Alam Shah of Selangor
  3. Tuanku Syed Putra of Perlis
  4. Sultan Ismail Nasirudin Shah of Terengganu
  5. Tuanku Abdul Halim of Kedah
  6. Sultan Yahya Petra of Kelantan
  7. Sultan Ahmad Shah Al-Mustain Billah of Pahang
  8. Sultan Iskandar of Johor
  9. Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah of Perak

    (2nd Cycle)
  10. Tuanku Jaafar of Negeri Sembilan
  11. Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz of Selangor
  12. Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin of Perlis
  13. Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin of Terengganu
  14. Tuanku Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah of Kedah

My history teachers always said, You must be born lucky to become the King of Malaysia. Born into a royal family, Heir apparent to the state, and crowned as a Sultan/Raja. (Requirement that must be fulfilled before you can be installed as the King for just 5 years.)

Officials Palace

Istana Negara or National Palace, Officials Residence of King of Malaysia

Istana Melawati
Royal Retreat, Istana Melawati

The next post will be about the royal family of each respective states.

:: This article is subject for amendment, the latest amendment was made on 12th April 2012.


Unknown said...

salam kpd kesemua PEWARIS2 Ahlul Bait

& PEWARIS2 Kesultanan melayu.dengan rasa rendah diri & hati..sila lawati

website: KEMEGA

ikhlas dari: PAHLAWAN TAUFAN

emel :


Related Posts with Thumbnails

Blog Followers