Thursday, August 19, 2010

Assalamualaikum and Peace be upon all of you.
Welcome to my blog.


Today, we will discuss about National Emblem of Malaysia. The national emblem is a modified version that previously used by the Federated Malay States, thus most of its characteristics resembles European Heraldic practices.

The Design

Yellow : Represent the country’s monarchy
Crescent : Represent Islam as the country’s official religion
14-pointed Federal Star : Represent all states in the Federation of Malaysia
Two rampant tigers : Represent strength and courage which is also a Malay symbolic tradition.

In the middle, the shield is divided into 10 divisions,

Red, white, yellow and black represents the Federated Malay States (Perak, Selangor, Pahang and Negeri Sembilan).
The 5 Keris represents the Unfederated Malay States (Johor, Terengganu, Kelantan, Kedah and Perlis).
The right and left side is the states emblem of Malacca and Pulau Pinang.
The middle consists of Sabah and Sarawak state emblem. The lower middle is a depiction of Malaysian National Flower, The Bunga Raya.

(Previously, the lower middle is reserved for Singapore State Emblem, but it later modified after Singapore left the Federation)

Brief History

The original version of our National State Emblem has been used since the formation of the Federated Malay States which originally consist of 4 states, Pahang, Perak, Selangor and Negeri Sembilan. It is introduced in 1895. The motto is written in Jawi, Dipelihara Allah. (Under Allah’s Protection)


After the Federation of Malaya was formed in 1948, the national emblem is modified with the increased number of states in the Federation. The crown was changed with a crescent and federal star. The shield consists of 5 keris and the state emblem of Pulau Pinang (Princess of Wales feathers) and Malacca (A Famosa). The motto was changed to Bersekutu Bertambah Mutu, both written in malay (Jawi) and English.


The emblem was modified for the second time upon the formation of the Federation of Malaysia. Singapore, North Borneo and Sarawak state emblem was inserts in the lower middle part of the shield. Malacca and Pulau Pinang state emblem also been modified with Pinang Tree and Malacca Tree. It is introduced in 1963 and only lived for two years.


After Singapore left the Federation, the emblem is modified again with the removal of Singaporean State Emblem. The hibiscus is added in its place.


The National Emblem is modified again with the more realistic appearance of tigers and modification of Sarawak, Pulau Pinang and Sabah state emblem. It is still in used until now.




Related Posts with Thumbnails

Blog Followers