Wednesday, January 26, 2011


Malaysia adapted the system of Constitutional Monarchy. Most of the topic about the Malaysian Ruler and Constitutional Monarchy can be refer in the Royal Library under the title of Yang di-Pertuan Agong. In this topic of Monarchy, it will refer to the incumbent/ ruling Yang di-Pertuan Agong as well as the member of the Conference of Ruler.

This post is subjected to amendment. The latest amendment was in 8th March 2014.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong (The Supreme Ruler)

The incumbent Yang di-Pertuan Agong is HM Tuanku Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah ibni almarhum Sultan Badlishah. He is the 14th Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia. His 5-years term started on 13th December 2011 and his term is expected to end on 13th December 2016.

Appointment and Installation Ceremony of Yang di-Pertuan Agong ::
not available for the moment

Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong

The Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, (malay = Timbalan Yang di-Pertuan Agong) exercises the functions of the Head of State during the absence or inability of the incumbent Yang di-Pertuan Agong (The Supreme Ruler) to exercise functions owing to illness or infirmity. The incumbent Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong is HRH Sultan Muhammad V of Kelantan.

In the Conference of Ruler 226th Meeting held on 14th October 2011, HRH Sultan Muhammad V was elected as the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong starting effectively on 13th December 2011.

Majlis Raja-Raja (The Conference of Ruler)

Majlis Raja-Raja or the Conference of Ruler is Malaysia’s Legal Body founded under the Article 38 of Malaysian Constitution as a place where the Malay Rulers and Governors will convene. Under several circumstances, the Federal Constitution reserves the power to the conference, where the government needs to hear the advice of the conference. The Conference has the power to elect the new Yang di-Pertuan Agong and also has the highest authority regarding of Islam welfare in Malaysia.

All nine Malay Rulers and 4 State’s Governors is a full member of the conference. The Keeper of the Ruler’s Seal is the Secretary of the Conference.

Member of the Conference of Ruler

Here is the member of the Conference of Ruler :-

HRH Tunku Annuar ibni Almarhum Sultan Badlishah
General-Councillor of Regency of Kedah

Tengku Muhammad Faris
HRH Sultan Muhammad V ibni Sultan Ismail Petra
Sultan of Kelantan

Sultan of Pahang
HRH Sultan Ahmad ibni Almarhum Sultan Abu Bakar
Sultan of Pahang

HRH Sultan Ibrahim ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar
Sultan of Johor

HRH Sultan Azlan Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Yusuf
Sultan of Perak

HRH Tuanku Muhriz ibni Almarhum Tuanku Munawir
Yang Dipertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan

HRH Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah
Sultan of Selangor

Raja of perlis
HRH Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin ibni Almarhum Syed Harun Putra Jamalullail
Raja of Perlis

Sultan Terengganu
HM Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin
Sultan of Terengganu

HE Pehin Sri Abdul Taib bin Mahmud
Yang Dipertua Negeri of Sarawak

HE Tun Mohd Khalil bin Yaakob
Yang Dipertua Negeri of Melaka

HE Tun Dr Hj Abdul Rahman bin Hj Abbas
Yang Dipertua Negeri of Pulau Pinang

HE Tun Juhar bin Hj Mahiruddin
Yang Dipertua Negeri of Sabah

Penyimpan Mohor Besar Raja-Raja (Keeper of the Ruler’s Seal)

The incumbent Keeper of the Ruler's Seal is Datuk Syed Danial bin Syed Ahmad. He is appointed on the post on 8th January 2011.




Related Posts with Thumbnails

Blog Followers